Joyce Gibson Roach

Tales of the American West

From the Western Writers of America-the most respected Western author organization in America-comes this extraordinary anthology featuring fifteen Spur Award-winning classics of Western fiction including: Loren D. Estleman, Richard Matheson, Elmer Kelton, Judy Alter, Win Blevins, Harry W. Paige, Frank Roderus, Ed Gorman, R.C. House, Joyce Gibson Roach, Jory Sherman, Gavy Svee, Glendon Swarthout, Sandra Whiting, and Jeanne Williams.

Just As I Am, story by Joyce Roach



Tales of the American West

Richard Wheeler, author of some of the best historical novels of the Old American West ever written, has gathered here stories from many of his fellow Spur Award writers--Loren Estleman, Richard C. House, Glendon Swarthout, Elmer Kelton, Richard Matheson, Jeanne Williams, Sandra Whiting, among them--and fashioned a superb anthology of the modern Western. Nobody knows the craft of Western fiction better than Wheeler and his introduction to this excellent collection is a masterpiece in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

By george gurney (southern California)
The book was received in excellent condition. The choice of authors included was fine. It is nice to have the best of the best in one volume to read and compare. As a writer in this genre, that is a valuable tool.